How To Get Master Mode BOTW?

How To Get Master Mode BOTW?

As most of you know, Zelda Breath of the Wild's DLC has been released for some time now. Maybe some of you are puzzled as to why there isn't a hard mode integrated to BOTW.

If you want to know the steps to follow to activate the difficult mode Zelda Breath of the Wild, this "How to get master mode BOTW" article will definitely help you!

Which modes are included in the DLC?

In The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild's DLC, you can find different choices and options that altogether make the journey more complex, more exciting, more intriguing, and above all more difficult! (Isn't it what you are aiming for?) In total, there are 6 modes that you can enjoy in this DLC.

1. A Trial of the Sword

The first one is the Trial of the Sword. In this part, you have to go to a place in Hyrule. The goal is to participate in the famous sword trials. You will discover the Legendary Sword. Note that this is a challenge where you will be totally helpless at the beginning... How exhilarating! Just like in Legend Of Zelda: Breath Of The Wild, you will have 45 levels to pass. At the beginning, you will have no armor, no weapon, no Link. It is only by passing levels that you can get equipment. The further you progress, the more powerful the Legendary Sword becomes. Interesting for sure.

2. Hero's Path and Travel Medallion

The second is the Hero's path Mode. This one will have for principle to trace your routes. You will find your routes over the 200 hours of play. You will have access to a map to see the levels or parts you have not yet visited in Hyrule. The third one is the travel medallion. It is hidden in a place in Hyrule. You will find it in a chest. The role of the medallion, as its name suggests, will be teleportation, but temporary one. Yes, Zelda can also have sci-fi elements.

3. Masks, armors and hard mode

The fourth is the Korok mask. As for the medallion, it will also be hidden somewhere in Hyrule, in a chest. Its role is to allow Link to find the 900 Korogu nuts that are also hidden in Hyrule. As soon as you approach a nut, your controller will let you know with a vibration.

The fifth mode is the new armor. Via the DLC, you can access eight kinds of chests (still hidden). These chests contain new armors, such as the Spectre's outfit, Tingle's outfit, Midona's helmet, etc. But the most interesting mode of this DLC is the difficult mode or expert mode.

In short, this is a mode where you can face almost unbeatable enemies. They are able to anticipate your strategies. They are also able to recover health. It will definitely be great if you are bored of the normal mode, and it will for sure be a way to have even more challenge!

Now let's see how to activate it!

What are the steps to activate Breath of the Wild's hard mode?

The Zelda Breath of the Wild difficult mode is indeed the most interesting of this DLC. However, it is not a standalone mode. So it does not start automatically. You have to activate it. To play it, follow the activation steps in this guide. After killing Ganon, the only way to activate the expert mode is to buy the DLC, there is no other way unfortunately.


1. Buying the DLC

The best way to buy the DLC is through the game. First of all, go to the title screen. Alternatively, you can enter the main menu. Once there, click on "additional content". This will take you directly to the Nintendo eShop page. You will then have access to the DLC and the purchase path. Please note that it will not be possible to order the DLC individually.

2. Activating the DLC

After the purchase, you can proceed to the next step: Activating the DLC. Without this, you will not be able to enjoy the content, modes and especially the difficult mode Zelda Breath of the Wild. For a flawless activation, you must first check the internet connection on the console. If everything is good on that side, go to the main menu.

You should have a notification that The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild is running. You should check the save game to see if it has been saved. If so, exit the game with the X icon. After doing this, click on the "+" icon. This will allow you to access the options. You must then access the tab "check for updates". Everything should now be activated. The console will tell you directly, in the main menu, at launch, that the DLC is available.

You can then start to access the various difficulties of the expert mode. Note that the opponents are tougher. As long as you don't kill them, their lives will recharge. So you have to concentrate on one enemy at a time. Also note that they anticipate your actions. You must therefore adopt more than original strategies. Don't forget that there are treasures in the air. However, these are well guarded by other enemies who have their camps in the air. Remember to collect these treasures to make your game more exciting!

That is all! You can now successfully enjoy playing BOTW's master mode. Or you can just wait for Tears of the Kingdom!

I hope you enjoyed our "How to get Master Mode BOTW" article!

1 comment

  • Emma

    I’m looking forward to the next zelda game.

Leave a comment